INRIA Coordinator: Adrien Bousseau

Adrien Bousseau is a researcher at INRIA Sophia-Antipolis in the GraphDeco research group.

His research interests are in image creation and manipulation, with a focus on 2D images (drawings and photographs). His recent work includes research on image stylization, image editing and relighting, and vector drawing tools. He received one of the three Eurographics 2011 PhD award for his research on expressive image manipulations.

Adrien Bousseau did his Ph.D in the Artis group at INRIA Rhône-Alpes in 2006-2009, his advisers were Joëlle Thollot and François X. Sillion. During his Ph.D he also interned at Adobe's Advanced Technology Labs under the supervision of David Salesin, and he visited MIT CSAIL under the supervision of Frédo Durand and Sylvain Paris. He did a postdoc at UC Berkeley in 2010, working with Maneesh Agrawala and Ravi Ramamoorthi.

Berkeley Coordinator: Maneesh Agrawala

Maneesh Agrawala is an Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of California, Berkeley.

He works on visualization, computer graphics and human computer interaction. His focus is on investigating how cognitive design principles can be used to improve the effectiveness of visual displays. The goals of this work are to discover the design principles and then instantiate them in both interactive and automated design tools.

Maneesh Agrawala received his B.S. in mathematics from Stanford in 1994 and his Ph.D in Computer Graphics from Stanford in 2002, under the supervision of Prof. Pat Hanrahan. While attending Stanford, he worked as a software consultant at Vicinity Corporation and in the rendering software group at Pixar Anaimation Studios. After graduating, Maneesh Agrawala worked at Microsoft Research for three years, working in its Document Processing and Understanding Group.

In 2006, he joined the faculty at the University of California, Berkeley. Maneesh Agrawala received an Okawa Foundation Research Grant in 2006, an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship and an NSF CAREER Award in 2007, a SIGGRAPH Significant New Researcher Award in 2008, and a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship in 2009.

Members from INRIA

Members from UC Berkeley