Content
logo INRIA
logo Ariana
Research ~ Applications Saturday, May 27th 2017, 00:49

Applications

Document Actions
  • Print this page

The problems treated by the project run the gamut of image processing, applied to satellite and aerial images. Examples include image restoration and denoising, multicamera reconstruction and super resolution, the extraction of various complex structures in the scene, and retrieval from remote sensing image databases.

One thing all the problems have in common is that they are ill-posed inverse problems. Even in those rare cases for which the existence and uniqueness of the solution is guaranteed, the solution is unstable to the perturbing effects of observation noise. It is therefore necessary to introduce prior knowledge concerning the solution, both in order to limit the set of possible solutions and to stabilize the solution against perturbations.

Denoising and deconvolution

These are perhaps the most basic of the applications with which Ariana is concerned, and two of the most studied problems in image processing. Yet progress can still be made in these problems by improving the prior image models used, for example, by using hidden Markov trees of complex wavelets or by decomposing the image into several components. Ariana is also interested in blind deconvolution.

denoisdenoisdenois

Figure 1. Left: denoising; middle: a degraded (blurred and noisy) image; right: its restoration.

Segmentation and classification

Many applications call for the image domain to be split into pieces, each piece corresponding to some entity in the scene, for example, forest or urban area, and in many cases for these pieces to be assigned the appropriate label. These problems too are long-studied, but there is much progress to be made, in particular in the use of prior geometric information.

segmsegm

Figure 2. Left: a satellite image; right: its classification.

Extraction of structures

As the resolution of remote sensing imagery increases, so the full complexity of the scene comes to the fore. What was once a texture is now revealed to be an arrangement of individual houses for example, or a number of separate trees. Many new applications are created by the availability of this data, but efficient harvesting of the information requires new techniques.

extractionextraction

Figure 3. Left: road network extraction; right: tree extraction.

3D modeling

Earth observation and cartography is not solely concerned with 2D images. One important problem is the construction of 3D digital elevation models (DEMs) from high-resolution stereo images produced by satellites or aerial surveys. Synthetic aperture radar (SAR) imagery also carries elevation information, and allows the production of more accurate DEMs thanks to interferometry techniques, for example.

3d3d

Figure 4. Left: DEM; right: interferometry.

Information mining and database retrieval

Every day, vast quantities of data are accumulated in remote sensing data repositories, and intelligent access to this data is becoming increasingly problematic. Recently, the problem of retrieval from large unstructured remote sensing image databases has begun to be studied within the project.

infoinfo

Figure 5. Image registration for the evaluation of retrieval systems. Left: mosaicked aerial image data; right: registered ground truth classification.
Copyright © 2005 - Project Ariana - webmaster
  • WCAG
  • valid XHTML
  • valid CSS

Passer au contenu
logo INRIA
logo Ariana
Recherche ~ Applications Dimanche 19 novembre 2017, 22h47

Applications

Document Actions
  • Print this page

Les centres d'intérêt du projet Ariana couvrent toutes les applications liées à l'imagerie satellitaire et aérienne. Par exemple la restauration d'image (débruitage et déconvolution), la reconstruction stéréoscopique ou multi-caméra, la super-résolution, l'extraction de données complexes dans divers environnements ou encore la recherche d'information dans des bases de données de télédétection.

Tous ces problèmes ont pour point commun d'être des problèmes inverses mal posés. Même lorsque l'existence et l'unicité de la solution sont garanties, la solution est généralement instable à cause des perturbations introduites par les appareils de mesure. Il est donc nécessaire d'introduire des connaissances a priori sur la solution. Ceci permet de réduire la dimension de l'ensemble des solutions et de stabiliser la solution en présence de perturbations

Le débruitage et la déconvolution

Ce sont peut-être les applications de plus bas niveau dans lesquelles le projet s'investit. Ce sont aussi les problèmes les plus étudiés dans la communauté du traitement d'image. Il reste néanmoins de nombreux progrès à faire en modélisant mieux les images et les bruits. C'est dans cette optique que le projet s'intéresse à la décomposition d'images en plusieurs composantes ou aux chaînes de Markov cachées d'ondelettes complexes. Le projet s'intéresse aussi aux problèmes de déconvolution aveugle.

denoisdenoisdenois

Figure 1. Gauche : débruitage ; milieu : une image dégradée (floue et bruitée) ; droite : image restaurée.

La segmentation et la classification

Dans beaucoup d'applications, il est nécessaire de séparer l'image en plusieurs parties. Chaque partie correspond à une entité dans la scène, par exemple une forêt ou une zone urbaine. Par la suite, il faut souvent identifier chaque partie obtenue après segmentation. Ces problèmes sont étudiés depuis longtemps, mais il reste encore beaucoup de travail à fournir, notamment dans le cadre de la modélisation et de l'utilisation d'à priori géométriques.

segmsegm

Figure 2. Gauche : une image satellitaire ; droite : la classification.

L'extraction de structures

L'augmentation progressive de la résolution des images de télédétection permet de détecter des structures de plus en plus complexes dans les images. Par exemple, ce qu'on considérait dans le temps comme une texture devient aujourd'hui un arrangement de maisons individuelles ou un ensemble d'arbres de types différents. De nombreuses applications potentielles voient ainsi le jour, mais demandent aussi des techniques novatrices pour les traiter.

extractionextraction

Figure 3. Gauche : extraction d'un réseau routier ; droite : extraction d'arbres.

La modélisation en 3D

L'observation de la Terre et la cartographie ne se font pas uniquement à partir d'images bidimensionnelles. Un des problèmes importants est la construction de modèles numériques d'élévation (MNE) 3D, à partir de paires d'images haute résolution, obtenues par imagerie satellitaire ou aérienne. L'imagerie par radars à ouverture synthétique (RSO), contient une information d'élévation et permet de produire des MNE plus précis grâce à des techniques d'interférométrie par exemple.

3d3d

Figure 4. Gauche : MNE; droite : interférometrie.

La recherche dans des bases de données

Tous les jours, de grandes quantités de données sont produites et accumulées dans des bases de données (BdD). Des méthodes d'accès intelligentes à ces BdD sont devenues un problème de plus en plus important. Le projet s'intéresse maintenant à la recherche d'informations dans des BdD d'images de télédétection non structurées.

infoinfo

Figure 5. Recalage d'images pour l'évaluation des sytèmes de recherche. Gauche : mosaïque d'images aériennes ; droite : vérité de terrain recalée.
Copyright © 2005 - Projet Ariana - webmaster
  • WCAG
  • XHTML valide
  • CSS valide