7th International Workshop on Formal Techniques for Safety-Critical Systems

Shenzhen, China, November, 9, 2019 (satellite workshop of ICFEM 2019)

http://www.ftscs.org -

Science of Computer Programming special issue

Springer CCIS proceedings

Submission deadline: September 3rd, 2019

Aims and Scope:

There is an increasing demand for using formal methods to validate and verify safety-critical systems in fields such as power generation and distribution, avionics, automotive systems, medical systems, and autonomous vehicles. In particular, newer standards, such as DO-178C (avionics), ISO 26262 (automotive systems), IEC 62304 (medical devices), and CENELEC EN 50128 (railway systems), emphasize the need for formal methods and model-based development, thereby speeding up the adaptation of such methods in industry.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together researchers and engineers who are interested in the application of formal and semi-formal methods to improve the quality of safety-critical computer systems. FTSCS strives to promote research and development of formal methods and tools for industrial applications, and is particularly interested in industrial applications of formal methods.

Specific topics include, but are not limited to:

  • case studies and experience reports on the use of formal methods for analyzing safety-critical systems, including avionics, automotive, medical, railway, and other kinds of safety-critical and QoS-critical systems

  • methods, techniques and tools to support automated analysis, certification, debugging, etc., of safety/QoS-critical systems
  • analysis methods that address the limitations of formal methods in industry (usability, scalability, etc.)

  • formal analysis support for modeling languages used in industry, such as AADL, Ptolemy, SysML, SCADE, Modelica, etc.

  • code generation from validated models.

The workshop will provide a platform for discussions and the exchange of innovative ideas, so submissions on work in progress are encouraged.


We solicit submissions reporting on:

  • A- original research contributions (16 pages max, LNCS format);

  • B- applications and experiences (16 pages max, LNCS format);

  • C- surveys, comparisons, and state-of-the-art reports (16 pages max, LNCS);

  • D- tool papers (6 pages max, LNCS format);

  • E- position papers and work in progress (6 pages max, LNCS format)

related to the topics mentioned above.

All submissions must be original, unpublished, and not submitted concurrently for publication elsewhere. Paper submission is done via EasyChair at https://easychair.org/my/conference?conf=ftscs2019. The final version of the paper must be prepared in LaTeX, adhering to the LNCS format available at http://www.springer.com/computer/lncs?SGWID=0-164-6-793341-0.


All accepted papers will appear in the pre-proceedings of FTSCS 2019. Accepted papers in the categories A-D above will appear in the workshop proceedings that will be published as a volume in Springer’s CCIS series.

The authors of a selected subset of accepted papers will be invited to submit extended versions of their papers to appear in a special issue of the Science of Computer Programming journal.

Important dates

  • Submission deadline: September 3rd, 2019
  • Notification of acceptance: October 4th, 2019
  • Workshop: November 9th, 2019


Shenzhen, China

Program chairs

  • Frederic Mallet, Université Cote d’Azur, I3S, Inria, Sophia Antipolis, France
  • Osman Hasan, National University of Sciences & Technology, Pakistan

Program committee

  • Étienne André, Université Paris 13, France
  • Toshiaki Aoki, JAIST, Japan
  • Cyrille Artho, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Kyungmin Bae, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea
  • Daniel Fava, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Sabine Glesner, Technical University of Berlin, Germany
  • Osman Hasan, National University of Sciences & Technology, Pakistan
  • Klaus Havelund, NASA, JPL, USA
  • Jerome Hugues, Institute for Space and Aeronautics Engineering, France
  • Marieke Huisman, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • Ralf Huuck, Synopsys, Australia
  • Fuyuki Ishikawa, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
  • Takashi Kitamura, AIST, Japan
  • Thierry Lecomte, ClearSy System Engineering, France
  • Yang Liu, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Robi Malik, University of Waikato, New Zealand
  • Frederic Mallet, Université Cote d’Azur, I3S, Inria, Sophia Antipolis, France
  • Roberto Nardone, University of Napoli “Federico II”, Italy
  • Thomas Noll, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Peter Olveczky, University of Oslo, Norway
  • David Pearce, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
  • Markus Roggenbach, Swansea University, UK
  • Ralf Sasse, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Martina Seidl, Johannes Kepler University, Austria
  • Graeme Smith, The University of Queensland , Australia
  • Sofiene Tahar, Concordia University, Canada
  • Carolyn Talcott, SRI International, USA
  • Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya, Osaka University, Japan
  • Andras Voros, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary
  • Mark Utting, University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia
  • Michael Whalen, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Huibiao Zhu, East China Normal University, China